Read This If You Are Feeling Depressed

Depression is defined as “extreme feelings of loss or hope.” Throughout my teen years I had times of depression. Most everyone in their lifetime feels depressed at some point. However, recently I was very depressed. I just got out of an abusive relationship. After going through that, I had no idea how I could trust another person again. I gained 80 pounds. I felt horrible about my body. I failed two classes. Now my family feels very strongly about getting an education, so when I got the first two F’s of my life it felt pretty bad. Especially because I did not even have a job. My only responsibility was school- and I did not even succeed at that. Everyone has a different story, but I felt I was at rock bottom. I was only 19 years old and I did not even want to live anymore. I felt no hope or joy. But then I realized, if I am rock bottom the only way from here is up. So I decided, coming into the New Year, I am going to change my ways beginning with changing my thoughts. Our thoughts become our words, our words become our actions, and our actions become our character. The mind and our thoughts are a powerful tool. I decided to make a list of quotes that may give one a little hope, including me:

  • “Live as if you were to die tomorrow. Dream as if you were to live forever.”
  • “It is never too late to be what you might have been.” 
  • “Its a blessing in disguise.” 
  • Often times the brightest rainbow follows the darkest storms.” 
  • “The most common way people give up their power is by thinking they don’t have any.”
  • “And in the end it is not the years in your life that count, it’s the life in your years.”
  • “Folks are usually about as happy as they make their minds up to be.”
  • “The secret of life, though, is to fall seven times and to get up eight times.”
  • “Turn your wounds into wisdom.”
  • “Getting better from depression demands a lifelong commitment. I’ve made that commitment for my life’s sake and for the sake of those who love me.”
  • “Character cannot be developed in ease and quiet. Only through experience of trial and suffering can the soul be strengthened, ambition inspired, and success achieved.”
  • “There are far, far better things ahead than anything we leave behind.”
  • “Action is the antidote to despair.”
  • “We are not to blame for our illness, but we are responsible for our health.”
7 thoughts on “Read This If You Are Feeling Depressed

  1. bmagpub says:

    Your story has touched my heart. Depression is such an insidious thing – I am glad that you have found inspirations to help. It is never easy. But there is always someone willing to listen, willing to help. Keep inspired!

    (And thanks for visiting my pages)

  2. saniikyle says:

    Truely inspirational simple words expressive……..and at least i felt better after reading this …..so best of luck for your new way and new year…..by the way liked reading your post…….keep smiling ….and don’t be depressed…..😊😊😊😊

Leave a Reply

