Lets Talk About The New Year

2016 was by far one of the worst years of my life. Now I am not one to be negative, but this year was FULL of challenges. I spent the year being broke, gaining weight, crying, being depressed, losing people, not doing well in school, etc. This year was so bad that I did not even want to live anymore. I lost all my hope and joy. I hit rock bottom.

I believe that everything happens for a reason and some of the shitty things that happened this year were for a reason. Although I do not know what the reasons are yet, I know one day I will understand. Hitting rock bottom has extremely motivated me to change my life.

“When you get into a tight place and everything goes against you, till it seems as though you could not hold on a minute longer, never give up then, for that is just the place and time that the tide will turn.”

I am so happy and relieved that the New Year is finally here. I am excited to spend 2017 focusing on ME. Focusing on my mind, body, soul, and life. This is not the “New Year New Me” bullshit, but its the fact that this year I learned and grew SO much from my hardships that I am ready for change. For the last 4 years I have been focusing on other people and their problems that I have totally lost myself. At least I can realize that.

My New Years Resolutions: Lose Weight, Get a Job, Transfer To a Cal State, & READ

What are some of your New Years resolutions and why?

 

20 thoughts on “Lets Talk About The New Year

  1. crazybutttricia says:

    Thank you for following my blog. I think we share a lot of the same experiences/feelings and have the same outlook in many areas. I have to agree with you, 2016 was the worst year I can remember. I am so glad that 2017 is here giving me a renewed sense of confidence in myself and hope for my future. New beginnings are powerful. Wishing you the best for this year, and the years to follow. I am looking forward to reading about your journey!

  2. Author Charmaine Gordon says:

    Survive&Thrive, my friend. You and only you can do it. Clear the dumb stuff out of your path and put a smile on your face. Forget about losing weight. Just eat good food like salads-not much dressing, good soup, salmon, small potions, veggies- and you’ll be fine. And walk or run easy. I’m a writer. My books are romance/suspense with humor. Give one a try. You’ll perk right up. My best to you. Happiest 2017 ever.

  3. terishostak says:

    Happy new year! Good luck with your resolustions! Keep focused, determined, and in good spirits and your resolutions will be a piece of cake 😊!
    I will be taking 2017 to focus on me and weed out the negative people in my life who drag my spirits down!!
    Thank you for the follow, I look forward to reading more about your journey and positive posts!!

  4. nurevealyoga says:

    What a wonderful awareness statement!!!! according to numerology, 2016 was a 9 meaning an end of chapter. So your chapter called 2016 ended sadly but thank goodness for this year which according to numerology means new beginnings. I applaud you that you are using your disappointments and challenges as stepping stones to move forward. I have learned many times over that my challenges have assisted me in assisting others. They have made me grow and showed me how to love immensely. Every time I was broken, I was able to love more than before. Every time I was broken, I was made stronger. So will you. Proud of you and I encourage you to continue on.

  5. talktobee says:

    Hello sis!!
    Nothing greater than doing what is best for you!! It’s great to always acknowledge and do for others but then it becomes so easy to lose sight of ourselves!
    Keep striving you’ve got this!!

  6. P.W. Decker says:

    Our goals for the new year are very similar, as are the reasons for new determination. I am VERY glad to say goodbye to the roller-coaster-ride that was 2016. Though there were definitely high points, great moments and even a triumph or two, there were also some very low points, up to and including the loss of both of my parents: My mother passed away in February and my father in August. My memory may be skewed, but I believe the low points outnumber the high points. I also lost my job, and got one that doesn’t pay as well, but is far more fulfilling. I could focus on all the negative events, and make 2017 just as bad, or I can choose to see 2017 as the new beginning that it is.

    I will begin by focusing on improving my physical well-being, and work on my mental and emotional attitudes as well. This time I am making an EFFORT to do so, instead of just sitting back and hoping it will all work out for the better.

    I wish us all luck, determination and perspective! (Oh, and laughter too! As much as we can stand!)

  7. strictmotivation4u says:

    one of the paradoxical secrets to life is, that it needs to be lived foreward and understood backward. many people waste energy and time trying to understand while it happens or before it happens. busy yourself to live in the moment and everything that had come to pass(t) will eventually make sense. #StrictMotivation

  8. midgetaylor143 says:

    Good morning. Thank you for following my blog. I believe I shall also follow you. I like that you are who you are.

    I’m sorry you had such a crappy year. Bless your heart and mind. It sounds like you are now on the mend, and learned what you needed to learn from it. I am on old lady, but I hope that doesn’t bother you. You being young doesn’t bother me. (:))

    I am looking forward to reading more about you. Sending you gentle hugs from a lady who has been there herself.
    Midge

Leave a Reply

