Look On The Bright Side

A negative thinker sees a difficulty in every opportunity. A positive thinker sees an opportunity in every difficulty.

I need to work on my thought patterns. The past few months have been so rough and difficult that I became so depressed. One of the main things I have been doing these last few months has been thinking negatively.

I believe that our thoughts form our lives. It is impossible to be a negative thinker and be happy. Negative thinking robs people of their happiness.

For example, I have been so angry at myself for gaining weight this last year. I thought to myself many times “you are so fat.” This leads me to be sad and angry at myself! I end up eating more, gaining more, and being more depressed.

But I realized, there is another way to look at it. I am so lucky I am fat and that I am so blessed to be able to change it! Their are others that have problems they can not change (paralysis, cancer, etc.). This leads me to feel motivated to change what I can.

Also, I grew up with divorced parents. I can be sad that I have divorced parents and don’t get to see my dad that often. Or I can be thankful and happy I have both parents.

I can think of so many examples.

Anyways, we can let ‘bad things’ in life make us depressed or we can realize that there is a lesson to be learned. God doesn’t give us stuff we can not handle. When we look on the bright side we are making ourselves and people around us happy. When we think negatively, we are bringing negativity into our lives. When we think positively, we are bringing positivety into our lives. And, honestly, who wants negativity in their lives? I know I don’t.

“Keep your face always toward the sunshine – and shadows will fall behind you.”

18 thoughts on “Look On The Bright Side

  1. Sean says:

    Our thoughts create our emotions. We don’t find happiness, we choose it by thinking thoughts that reinforce our wish to be happy. The difficulty however lies in recognising when you are thinking negatively, and then choosing to do something about it.

    However, it’s also OK to think about things that are negative and which may bring on feelings of unhappiness. There truly cannot be light without darkness. The trick is to give such thoughts only as much attention as they deserve, then move on to things that are more positive, and to find a personalised balance that works for you.

    Finding strength in the negative only helps to reinforce the positive. That you choose to acknowledge this is a sign that you’ve passed through the worst of those things that you feel are negative, and you’re ready to embrace changes that will bring you greater happiness, simply because you’ve made choices to do so.

    It’s kind of awesome isn’t it. 🙂

  2. Martha L Shaw says:

    You were in a dark place, but the truth shines in your words from your heart! With theLight shining, darkness has been overcome! YOU’VE GOT THIS! He’s with you!

  3. JoAnna says:

    This is awesome! Not only are you taking good care of yourself, you are creating ripples of positive energy flowing out from you. I ask myself three questions about thoughts: is it true? is it helping me to think this way? Is there another way to think about this that could help? Keep up the good work!

  4. Khan says:

    Okay I absolutely love your outlook. A great example using positive self talk.
    Thank you for following my blog and I will definitely will be returning to read more of your work. 🙂

  5. strictmotivation4u says:

    Every time something happens, I seek the value of it. Not trying to differentiate between negative and positive. anything that happens has a value. happiness is deicovering and using that value to benefit. #StrictMotivation

  6. anitabacha says:

    ❤️
    Happy and bright new year to you!
    Some see the cloud ☁️
    Others see the silver lining around the cloud ☁️
    See only the open sky and all the hopes and opportunities that life has given you .

  7. Michelle Hermanson Real Estate says:

    I wholeheartedly endorse your effort to change and the suggestion P.W. Decker shared from a counselor – – to commit to utilizing (WEARING?) some arbitrary but conspicuous reminder that it is your mission to reset towards positive thinking. For example, I am on a mission to get in the best shape of my life before my 40th birthday. At one time, that task (losing a daunting 75 pounds PLUS toning, strengthening, and reaching peak cardiovascular endurance) seemed impossible. I kept thinking ‘But I have SO much to lose’. ‘I NEED that (insert addictively delicious food here)’. ‘I don’t want to (insert any sort of physical activity here’).

    But, then I realized achieving this change it’s as simple as deciding that in every moment, my body is transitioning to where it will be based on the decisions I make in each moment, and to remind myself every time i look at my watch [purchased a relatively inexpensive but attractive pedometer/watch combo] that now is the time to make the decision to maintain its momentum towards the goal.

    Now, each time I look down I see a new watch, tracking my progress toward success, and am reminded that I’m on course and should continue on this course; positive reinforcement. As long as I stay focused on the positive, then the positive is my reality, and I’ll end up much closer to the goal with a much better (and sustainable) outlook.

    I hope this will work for you. Be gentle to yourself as you would if you were advising a friend, family member, or stranger. You deserve that and more!!

  8. P.W. Decker says:

    This is something I was told by a counselor once: You may have gotten so used to negative thinking popping into your head that you may not recognize negative thoughts until they’ve already had an effect. One thing you can do to help get used to identifying them immediately, is to wear a rubber band on your wrist. Then when you realize that you are thinking negative thoughts, snap the rubber band hard enough to be somewhat painful (but not damaging), and keep snapping it until you have purged the negativity. This can help you get used to looking for negative thoughts, and then dealing with them before they can sneak in and get worse. Just a life-hack kind of thing that may help.

Leave a Reply

